top of page

Repair of Antique Rengetsu-Ware

The first restoration-newsletter from the kintsugi studio is about works from the collection of John Walker, a Swiss collector of historical ceramics. Over the course of this year, I restored a total of seven pieces for him, the majority of them in the style of Rengetsu-Yaki after Ōtagaki Rengetsu.

There is something special about working with antique ceramics. The story inherent in each piece invites you to let your imagination fly. Who has drunk from the bowl? Was the kyuusu owned by a lady or a scholar? Each time I take such a piece out of the furo and apply another coat of lacquer, I feel more connected than ever to the past and the society that gave birth to it. 

Restauration_JWalker-Chawan_Step6-15.jpeg
Restauration_JWalker-Kyuusui_Step6-02.jpeg

Kyūsu

This kyūsu required repair of both cracks and chipped parts. The chipped parts were filled with tonoko, a fine Japanese clay, and then covered with layers of lacquer until they had the desired shape.

Restauration_JWalker-Chawan_Step6-09.jpeg

Shiboridashi & Chawan

This shiboridashi and chawan have only cracks in the ceramic. An application of urushi diluted with camphor oil allows the lacquer to soak into the crack, thereby sealing it. Then, as with the fractures, the crack is traced with bengara urushi and finished with powdered gold.

Restauration_JWalker-Gurke_Step6-01.jpeg

Hanaire

In this hanaire, the lower part is broken off and was remodeled with the help of a filling compound made of jinoko (Japanese clay).

Restauration_JWalker-Bowl-Flat_Step6-01.jpeg

Bowls

Missing areas were modeled on both bowls using a jinoko (Japanese clay) filler.

top of page
rengetsu.jpg

REPARATUR ANTIKER RENGETSU-KERAMIKEN

2022 habe ich für den schweizer Sammler John Walker insgesamt sieben Stücke restauriert, die Mehrzahl davon im Stil der Rengetsu-Yaki nach Ōtagaki Rengetsu.

Es ist etwas besonderes, mit antiken Keramiken zu arbeiten. Die in jedem Stück innewohnende Geschichte lädt dazu ein, der eigenen Fantasie freien Lauf zu lassen. Jedes Mal, wenn ich ein solches Stück aus dem Furo hole und eine weitere Lackschicht auftrage, fühle ich mich mehr denn je mit der Vergangenheit und der Gesellschaft verbunden, die es hervorgebracht hat. 

Restauration_JWalker-Kyuusui_Step6-02.jpeg

Kyūsu

Bei dieser Kyūsu waren sowohl Risse als auch abgesplitterte Fehlstellen zu reparieren. Die Fehlstellen wurden mit Tonoko, einer feinen japanischen Tonerde, gefüllt und dann mit Lackschichten überzogen, bis sie die gewünschte Form hatten.

Restauration_JWalker-Chawan_Step6-09.jpeg

Shiboridashi & Chawan

Bei dieser Shiboridashi und Chawan sind lediglich Risse in der Keramik entstanden. Ein Auftrag von mit Kampferöl verdünntem Urushi lässt den Lack in den Riss einziehen und versiegelt ihn dadurch. Danach wird der Riss, wie bei den Bruchstellen, mit Bengara Urushi nachgezogen und mit Pudergold veredelt.

Restauration_JWalker-Gurke_Step6-01.jpeg

Hanaire

Bei dieser Hanaire ist der untere Teil abgebrochen und wurde mithilfe einer Füllmasse aus Jinoko (Japanischer Tonerde) nachmodelliert.